The Research Team


Centre for Social Impact (CSI)

The Centre for Social Impact (CSI) is a national research and education centre dedicated to catalysing social change for a better world. CSI is built on the foundation of three of Australia’s leading universities: UNSW Sydney, The University of Western Australia, and Swinburne University of Technology. Our research develops and brings together knowledge to understand current social challenges and opportunities; our postgraduate and undergraduate education develops social impact leaders; and we aim to catalyse change by drawing on these foundations and translating knowledge, creating leaders, developing usable resources, and reaching across traditional divides to facilitate collaborations.


Social Policy Research Centre (SPRC)

The Social Policy Research Centre (SPRC) at the University of New South Wales was founded in 1980 as Australia’s first national research centre dedicated to shaping awareness of social welfare issues. The Centre is dedicated to making a positive impact through independent and leading research that explores the key social issues of poverty, inequality, wellbeing and justice.

The research team

Dr Abigail Powell

Dr Natasha Cortis

Dr Ioana Ramia

Ms Axelle Marjolin

Ms Nicola Hannigan

Mr Stephen Bennett

Previous team members

Dr Rebecca Reeve

Dr Kerrie-Anne Ho

Dr Ilro Lee

Dr Andrew Young

Professor Kristy Muir

Professor Roger Simnett


The research team has benefited from the extensive expertise, commitment and support of Susan Pascoe AM, Murray Baird, Annie Keely, Natashia Allitt, Emma Chiu, Ross Gillott, Susan Cotterill, Sean Lounder, Melville Yates, Tim Liu, Benjamin Rashid and Nathan Hughes from the ACNC; Julie Couper from Queensland Council of Social Services (QCOSS); Roger Simnett (UNSW and Australian Auditing and Assurance Standards Board); and David Gilchrist (University of Western Australia).